Tips From a Charleston WV Car Accident Attorney – What to Do After an Accident

Being in an accident can be a terrifying experience, but after you or your loved one receives the necessary medical attention, dealing with the injuries can be confusing, stressful, and extremely frustrating, especially when the injuries were caused by another individual. By filing a car accident lawsuit with an experienced Charleston WV car accident attorney, you can file a lawsuit to litigate for the full compensation for the damages incurred, such as medical expenses, therapy, loss of income, pain and suffering, and more.

Tips for What to Do After an Accident | Charleston WV Accident Attorney

When filing a personal injury lawsuit to seek compensation for your injuries after the accident, the first step is to contact Charleston WV injury attorney Charles Love. With years of experience successfully helping individuals win their cases, we are confident that we can help you too. For a free consultation with our Charleston WV law firm, call us today at (304) 344-5683.

Summary for Motor Vehicle Accident Emergencies

Before you even think about calling a personal injury lawyer, it’s essential to follow West Virginia law and recommendations about what to do immediately after an accident. This information is taken from the WV Driver Licensing Handbook.

  • If feasible (no major injuries, car still running) pull to the side of the road.
  • Turn off the ignitions of all involved vehicles.
  • Place flashers or flares to notify oncoming traffic of the accident.
  • Call 911 and local law enforcement, and provide basic first aid while you wait. Remember, you should never move a victim unless it’s absolutely necessary.
  • Exchange names, addresses, license plate numbers, driver’s license numbers, and motor vehicle registration information with each party.
  • If you just happen to be driving the same path, don’t stop unless you can help.

Once you know that everyone is okay, you can make sure that you have enough information for filing a claim with the insurance company or with the West Virginia courts. Memories tend to fade as time passes, so having everything documented will be important.

How to Report Your West Virginia Car Accident

Reporting the car accident is also highly essential. In some cases, however, you are required by law to report an accident with the local police department, sheriff, or state police within 5 days if the following apply:

  • The accident caused injury or death.
  • The accident resulted in properly damage exceeding $500.

If you fail to report an accident to the West Virginia police, you may have your license suspended. In the event that another driver offers to pay for damages and asks you not to report an accident, you are still required to file the report if there was injury, death, or property damage exceeding $500.

From a legal and personal injury lawsuit perspective, reporting your accident is also very important for your claim. By filing a report with the police, you have the facts of the accident and the police’s report documented, which you can then use as evidence in your case. A car accident insurance claim without a police report will be incomplete and it may increase the risk of a claim denial or a low settlement offer.

Speaking to Witnesses of the Car Accident

In addition to getting a police report and contacting the insurance company, you can also question witnesses to add critical evidence to your insurance claim or legal action. Getting a statement from witnesses can help you establish the details of the accident and who was at fault. Furthermore, a witness can provide details from a different point of view, possibly viewing critical details that you may have missed.

Some questions to ask the witness can include:

  • Where were you standing?
  • How long have you been on the scene?
  • Did you notice the accident before, during, or after the actual collision?
  • Did you have a clear view of the accident, or was your view obstructed at any point?
  • What did you see? Can you describe the incident in detail?

Depending on the unique circumstances of the accident, you may need to ask the witness additional questions. Nevertheless, it’s important to get the most out of your conversation by writing and documenting everything.

Call the Top Car Accident Attorney Charleston WV

Knowing what to do after an accident can be incredibly difficult, especially when there is injury involved. However, you should always be careful who you speak with as giving some information can be damaging to your claim. Instead, make sure to consult with your attorney before speaking with the other party’s insurance provider. At the Love Law Firm, we’ve helped many individuals right here in Charleston WV with their car accident claims. Don’t just take the minimal settlement, and get the compensation and justice you deserve with Charleston WV car accident attorney Charles Love. Free consultations are available, so call today at (304) 344-5683.

Speak Your Mind

*